Skip to main content

Alumni News

Alumna Laura Biedermann is awarded Spark Award

Alumna Laura Biedermann, Ph.D., has received an award for her efforts in mentoring and promoting women's issues in science and engineering. She is a staff scientist at Sandia National Labs and is actively involved with numerous research projects in physics and materials science. She is a former PhD student of Professor Reifenberger. Congratulations Dr. Biedermann!

Date: Nov 19, 2021

Alumni Spotlight: Dr. David G. Seiler

Alumni Spotlight: Dr. David G. Seiler: a twisting and turning change of careers allowed Purdue Physics alumnus to constantly reach and expand the science of semiconductors.

Date: Aug 10, 2021

Dr. Mario J. Paniccia elected to the National Academy of Engineering

Physics and Astronomy alumnus Mario J. Paniccia (PhD Physics '94) has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering.  Paniccia  was elected to the Academy for “his contributions to integrated silicon photonic devices and their commercialization."

Date: Feb 21, 2021

Sydor Technologies Included on Purdue University Research Team selected by NASA

Sydor Technologies Included on Purdue University Research Team selected by NASA. Sydor Technologies will be represented on the Purdue University team by Dr. David Garand, Purdue alumnus, who received his PhD from Purdue Physics and Astronomy.

Date: Feb 1, 2021

CMS sees evidence for the Higgs bosons decaying into muons. Purdue physicists contributed to the discovery.

CMS sees evidence for the Higgs boson decaying into muons. Purdue physicists contributed to the discovery.

Date: Aug 4, 2020

Purdue graduate rolls dice on an unexpected career move

One of the biggest names in tabletop board games is a Purdue Physics and Astronomy alumn. Isaac Childres graduated with a doctorate in physics in 2014 but his career route took an unusual turn. While working on his doctor thesis, “Effects of energetic irradiation on materials and devices based on graphene and topological insulators,” Childres was also working on a side project. He had always enjoyed tabletop games and was working on creating a tabletop game called Forge War. This side project has grown to one of the largest Kickstarter campaigns for tabletop games and an entire series of hugely successful and popular games.

Date: Jul 31, 2020


“What we’re saying is that there’s something in our detector that nobody expected, and at this time nobody knows what it actually is,” says Rafael Lang, a physicist and XENON team member from Purdue University.

Date: Jun 19, 2020


Looping the structures around one another strengthens the case that anyons really exist

Date: Jul 9, 2020

Derek Tournear (BS 98) named director of Space Development Agency

Date: Oct 28, 2019

Unique properties of quantum material explained for first time

Date: Oct 22, 2019

DoE awards nearly $7 million to Purdue-based startup to advance nuclear technology using artificial intelligence and machine learning

Date: Oct 16, 2019

William Robertson (PhD 1988) receives MTSU's highest faculty honor

William Robertson (PhD 1988) receives MTSU's highest faculty honor

Date: Aug 25, 2019

Katherine Schreiber (PhD 2018) wins Springer Thesis Award

We are pleased to announce that Katherine Schreiber has won a 2019 Springer Thesis Award in recognition of her outstanding Ph.D. research.

Date: Aug 20, 2019

2019 College of Science Alumni Awards

2 Physics and Astronomy alumni were honored by the College of Science for their achievements.

Date: Mar 29, 2019

Kwok (PhD 1987) named Outstanding Referee by American Physical Society

Date: Feb 28, 2019

John Monnier (BS 93) receives 2019 AAS Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation

Date: Jan 9, 2019

Postdoc Jie Zhao wins award named for alumnus Lee Grodzins

Date: Sep 10, 2018

George Best (BS 1942), Los Alamos Living Treasure

Date: Mar 29, 2018

Greg Boebinger (BS 81) named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Boebinger is currently the director of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, headquartered at Florida State University.

Date: Apr 17, 2017

Researchers detail formation of massive moon basin

Date: Oct 27, 2016

Mike Moses (BS 89) named President of Virgin Galactic

Date: Oct 13, 2016

Kathleen Falconer (MS 96) receives Homer L. Dodge Citation for Distinguished Service

for exceptional service to the American Association of Physics Teachers

Date: Oct 10, 2016

Connolly, Kwok named 2016 College of Science Outstanding Alumni

Date: Sep 23, 2016

Greg Boebinger (BS 81) receives Francis G. Slack Award for excellence in service to physics

Date: Jan 22, 2016

Dennis Krause (PhD 94) delivers Wabash College Charles D. LaFollette Lecture in the Humanities

Date: Nov 3, 2015

Timothy Beers (BS 79) and Galactic Archaeology group produce the first age map of the Milky Way halo

Date: Oct 28, 2015

Outstanding Alumni - 2015

Andrew Elmore (BS 1997) and Frank Liu (MS 1964) named Department of Physics and Astronomy Outstanding Alumni for 2015

Date: Sep 25, 2015

Physics and Astronomy PhD receives Chorafas Prize

for "Study of Quark Gluon Plasma by Particle Correlations in Heavy Ion Collisions"

Date: Sep 22, 2015

Purdue physics grad on cutting edge of cancer fight

Physics alumnus Michael Anderson (BS 2010) leverages his research on pH's role in cancer into a new startup.

Date: Sep 2, 2015

Gene Bulman named Distinguished Alumnus for 2015

Date: Apr 17, 2015

Lutron founder Joel Spira (BS 1948) passes away at 88

Date: Apr 10, 2015

Dr. Mary Bishai (PhD 99) named American Physical Society Fellow

Date: Mar 17, 2015

2014 Outstanding Alumni

Dr. Robert Brunner and Dr. Lynn Young named Outstanding Alumni for 2014

Date: Oct 10, 2014

R&D Magazine features Dr. Virginia Ayres' (PhD 85) research on nanomaterials and radiation resiliency

Nano-testing for future electronics

Date: Aug 6, 2014

John Monnier (BS 93) receives 2014 Michelson Prize

Date: Jul 29, 2014

Dr. Burke Minsley (BS 97) awarded Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

USGS scientist recognized for research on permafrost.

Date: Apr 24, 2014

Debra Dolby Guillemaud named Distinguished Alumna for 2014

Date: Apr 11, 2014

Dr. Andrew Elmore (BS 97) receives USM Regents' Faculty Award

The University System of Maryland (USM) Board of Regents awarded Dr. Andrew Elmore the 2014 USM Regents’ Faculty Award.

Date: Apr 11, 2014

2013 Outstanding Alumni

Dr. Kara Hoffman and Dr. John Monnier named Outstanding Alumni for 2013

Date: Oct 11, 2013

Dr. David Leckrone receives Honorary Doctorate

Date: May 10, 2013

Dr. Roger Dixon name Distinguished Alumni for 2013

Date: Apr 19, 2013

Dr. David Leckrone named Distinguished Alumnus for 2012

Date: May 7, 2012

Intel milestone confirms light beams can replace electronic signals for future computers

Dr. Mario Paniccia (Physics MS '90, PhD '94) is an Intel Fellow and Director of Photonics Research at Intel Labs. In July 2010, Intel announced a breakthrough in the use of light to carry data between computer components.

Date: Oct 15, 2010

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2016 11:53 AM

Department of Physics and Astronomy, 525 Northwestern Avenue, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2036 • Phone: (765) 494-3000 • Fax: (765) 494-0706

Copyright © 2021 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science.